Perfect throw gets runner out but umpires overturn call, a breakdown

Coastal Carolina and North Carolina went head-to-head in a wild Warehouse Games tournament matchup. Tied at 2-2 with two outs and runners on, Coastal had a chance to take the lead when a base hit sent the runner from second charging home. The throw from left field was perfect, the catcher applied the tag, and the runner was called out at the plate. Coastal’s players celebrated what looked like a game-saving play, but the umpires huddled up and decided to review it.

The focus of the review was catcher obstruction. According to the rulebook, a catcher can block the plate only if he’s about to receive the ball. The umpires decided he was set up in the path too early without possession, ruling that it was obstruction. The runner was called safe, giving Coastal the lead. North Carolina’s coach Scott Forbes wasn’t having it. He came out furious, arguing the throw had arrived in time and the tag was clean. He claimed the replay wasn’t conclusive and said the call should’ve stood as originally made. He got tossed for giving the umpire an earful.

In the end, none of it mattered. North Carolina tied it back up with a homer in the eighth, then walked it off in the 10th with a single to left that scored the winning run. Despite all the chaos at the plate, they pulled out the win. That celebration dance from No. 22 may have been the most confusing part of the night.