The Lions and Cowboys ended their game with one of the most debated plays of the NFL season. Down by one, Detroit scored a late touchdown and chose to go for two instead of tying with an extra point. They pulled out a trick play they’d prepped for all week. Offensive tackle Taylor Decker, wearing number 68, appeared to report as an eligible receiver. He faked a block, slipped out, and caught what looked like a go-ahead two-point conversion. The celebration didn’t last.
Officials huddled and ruled Decker ineligible. According to the ref, it was number 70, Dan Skipper, who had properly reported. The video tells a murkier story. Decker approached the ref and gave the usual “report as eligible” signal, rubbing his chest. At the same moment, Skipper was also gesturing to the ref and had done the same thing earlier in the game. The ref was clearly looking at Skipper and acknowledged him—not Decker. The Lions had tried to use deception by sending multiple linemen to confuse the defense, but the unclear signals ended up backfiring.
A redo of the two-point attempt failed, and the Lions lost. Afterward, the NFL said it’s the player’s responsibility to make their status change clear. But they’re also expected to downgrade the ref for botching the call. The whole situation comes down to miscommunication, misdirection, and a rule designed to prevent exactly those things. This time, it cost Detroit a win.